Astrology Services Home

Glossary of Astrology & other terms   



Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, and Pisces are feminine signs. Feminine asterisms are Krittika, Rohini, Mrigashirsha, Aridra, Punarvasu, Purva Phaiguni, Hastha, Chittra, Vishakha, Anuradha, Dhanistha, Shatbhisag, Uttara Bhadrapada and Revati.

Feminine signs and asterisms are related with the material aspect of life as distinguished from the spiritual aspect of it. Among the planets, Moon, Venus, and Ketu are considered feminine; Mercury and Saturn are neutrals (or eunuchs). Feminine planets need active support of other planets to produce their inherent results. Feminine signs and asterisms as well as planets have their masculine counterparts, in whose association they prosper easily and harmoniously


Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are fiery signs. Sun and Mars are fiery planets. They show courage, strength, determination, aggression and confidence in oneself.


Sthira Rasi (sk). Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are fixed signs. These signs radiate deep acting impulses when planets are posited there, they make decisive impact on the life of the individual.


Nakshatras (sk).


A Tibetan term representing in the universe of manifestation the ever present electrical energy and nonstop destructive and formative power. It is analogous to the Vedic concept of Agni, fire. Agni, in the Vedas, is always represented in the double aspect of force and light. It is the divine power that builds up the worlds; it is a power that acts always with perfect knowledge; it knows all forms and activities of divine wisdom. Similarly, Fohat is said to be the universal propelling vital force, at once the propeller and the resultant. Often it is said to be equivalent to the Vedic Mool Prakriti, the primeval root for all cosmic manifestation. Theosophists use Fohat to represent the active male potency of Shakti (q.v.), the female reproductive power in nature. The energy expressed by Fohat becomes important in interpreting the deeper aspects of solar impulse.


A term (probably) of Arabian origin. It was known even to Ptolemy. It is an imaginary point in heaven yet considered sometimes powerful as the luminaries.

Pars Fortuna is worked out by adding together the longitudes of Ascendant and the Moon, and subtracting from the total the longitude of Sun. The resultant is the longitude of Pars Fortuna. This concept itself may not be available in ancient Indian astrological texts, but the essential features of it were known to the astrologers. The identity of Pars Fortuna, in terms of Vedic astrology, can be established as follows:

Paras Fortuna =A+M-S=F    where A is the Ascendant, M is the longitude of Moon, S, the longitude of Sun, and where F is the longitude of Pars Fortuna.

The equation can also be written as


because T = M - S, where T stands for Tithi, or a lunar day. In this way, Pars Fortuna becomes a point in the horoscope as distant from the ascendant as the Sun is from Moon, measured from the ascendant. Traditional Hindu astrology regards Moon as important as the ascendant. Tithi is assigned a functional role as a magnetic point well established in traditional Vedic astrology.

Pars Fortuna, in airy signs, bestows fame through literary or artistic activities. In earthy signs, it makes the individual laborious: in Taurus, it makes him work on fine arts; in Virgo, as a chemist or a printer; and in Capricorns, in medical profession. In watery signs, Pars Fortuna gives birth to successful occultists; and in fiery signs, the individuals become leaders and pioneers in different spheres of life.

The results of Pars Fortuna in different houses are as follows:

1st House: Desire for self-expression and recognition of one's merit.

2nd House: Desire for power and domination over others.

3rd House: The person becomes a thinker.

4th House: Pleasant domestic environment.

5th House: Enterprising and meritorious offspring. .

6th House: Impatience and lack of self-control.

7th House: Happy married life.

8th House: Strained financial fortune.

9th House: Spiritual temperament.

10th House: The individual attains high official status.

11th House: Helpful and supportive friends and social circle.

12th House: Depression and frustration in mundane activities.


Planetary friendship is of three kinds, viz., inherent, temporary, and aggregative. The first one depends upon the basic qualities of the planets, the second on their mutual relationships in the horoscope, while the third depends upon the resulting relationships emerging from the first two kinds and determining their aggregative strength.

Planets according to Sage Satyacharya, are inherently friendly with the lords of 2nd, 4th, 5th, 8th, 9th, and 12th signs from their Mulatrikona (q.v.) or Trine houses, besides the lords of their exaltation signs. Any planet occupying 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 10th, or 11th houses from it becomes its temporary friends. If a planet is situated along with another in any house, or if there is a planet in the 5 th, 6 th, 7th, 8 th, or 9th houses from it, such planets are treated as its temporary enemies.

Aggregative relationship is classified under five categories, viz., very friendly, friendly, neutral, inimical, and very inimical. If two planets are friendly according to both the methods of classification, they are considered to be very friendly. If under one classification a planet is friendly with another but in the next becomes neutral, the two will be treated as only friendly. If according to one they are friendly, but inimical according to the other, they will be treated as neutrals. In case two planets are neutral according to one classification whereas under the next set of conditions they become enemies, they will be reckoned as enemies. If under both sets of conditions, two planets are neutral according to one classification whereas under the next set of conditions they become enemies, they will be reckoned as enemies. If under both sets of conditions, two planets are found to be unfriendly, they will be treated as very inimical. The, following table shows the generally accepted inherent or natural interplanetary relationships of friendship.

Table 4: Inherent Friendship between Planets

Planets Friends Neutrals Enemies
Sun Moon, Mars  Jupiter Mercury  Saturn, Venus
Moon  Sun, Mercury Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn ---
Mercury Sun, Venus  Mars, Jupiter, Saturn Moon
Venus Mercury; Saturn Mars, Jupiter Sun, Moon
Mars  Sun, Moon, Jupiter Venus, Saturn Mercury
Jupiter Moon, Mars, Sun Saturn  Mercury
Saturn Mercury, Venus  Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars

N.B. The friendly relations of Rahu and Ketu are not included in the table.

Some texts mention Jupiter, Venus, and Saturn to be their friends.